Verrà aperta una nuova finestra


2020-2021 Edition

something incredible
is waiting to be known"

Carl Sagan, astronomer

The prize


The topic

Sustainability and quality of life

The jury

15 top scientists

The selection

International application

The Winners


Pierre Joliot

Biologist, Emeritus Professor at Collège de France


Marcella Bonchio

Full Professor in Chemical Sciences, University of Padua


Markus Antonietti

Director of the Institute for Colloids and Interfaces, Max Planck Institute

Discover the reason of the Jury for the assignement of the Award 

The jury

15 members with the highest h-index in the official Top Italian Scientists list for each of the Life sciences areas

  • 4 Natural & Environamental Sciences

  • 3 Material & Nano Sciences 

  • 2 Chemistry 

  • 2 Clinical Sciences 

  • 1 Biomedical Sciences, 1 Business Sciences,

    1 Engineering, 1 Physics

I 15 Top Italian Scientists


Roberto Bassi

Full Professor of Plant Physiology, University of Verona


Paola Bonfante

Head of the Department of Plant Biology, University of Turin


Silvia Bordiga

Full Professor of Physical Chemistry, University of Turin


Giulio Cerullo

Full Professor of Physics of Matter with the Department of Physics, Politecnico di Milano


Giovanni Dosi

Professor of Economics, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Pisa


Dario Farina

Full Professor of Neurorehabilitation Engineering, Imperial College London

Andrea C. Ferrari

Professor of Nanotechnology, University of Cambridge UK, Jury President


Marco Gobbetti

Full Professor of Microbiology at the Faculty of Science and Technology, University of Bolzano


Carlo La Vecchia

Full Professor of Medical Statistics and Epidemiology, University of Milan


Liberato Manna

Head of the Nanochemistry Department, IIT


Michele Morgante

Professor of Genetics and Scientific Director of the Institute of Applied Genomics, University of Udine


Maurizio Prato

Full Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Trieste


Giuseppe Remuzzi

Director of the Mario Negri IRCCS Pharmacological Research Institute


Giorgio Sberveglieri

Professor emeritus of Experimental Physics, University of Brescia,


Claudiu T. Supuran

Chemist, Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences in Florence.

Previous editions


Guido Kroemer

A scholar of the correlation between calorie restriction and longevity, the Jury praised his discovery of caloric restriction as a key factor in keeping the body healthy. 
As stated in the full reasoning in the Jury's report, ‘Guido Kroemer discovered a key factor for longevity in caloric restriction, which is capable of inducing autophagy. The researcher developed the concept of “caloric restriction mimetics” (CRMs) by identifying and characterising natural or pharmacological substances capable of inducing autophagy, in order to combat cardiovascular ageing and improve anti-tumour immunity’. 


Michele De Luca, Tobias Hirsh, Graziella Pellegrini

Three researchers awarded for the trial of ex vivo genetic therapy for the treatment of Junctional Epidermolysis Bullosa or ‘Butterfly Children Syndrome’.


Giacomo Rizzolatti

Director of the Department of Neuroscience at the University of Parma, chosen from more than twenty international candidates for his discovery of mirror neurons. 

The award process on blockchain

Blockchain technology certifies the transparency and validity of the procedure

The awarding criteria shall be based on the participation of voters, jurors and Regione Lombardia

Every decision shall be turned into a digital document saved onto a public blockchain in the form of a digital footprint.

Anyone may verify the decisions made: indeed, blockchain ensures change-proof and traceable data in full compliance with privacy regulations.