Verrà aperta una nuova finestra
  • Cluster

A technology cluster is a structured aggregation of businesses, universities, research centres and other public or private entities, focused on a specific field and having a legal personality and a model of governance.

It participates actively in the implementation of innovative processes that contribute to the competitiveness of Lombardy at a local, national and international level:

  • Fosters collaboration between scientific and industrial actors in the cluster, facilitating the inclusion of small businesses (micro-, small- and medium-sized enterprises and start-ups).
  • Supports the Lombardy Region in the process of defining and updating the Research and Innovation Strategy (R&I).
  • Maps the skills and promotes excellence of the region in creating new value chains.
  • Exploits the results of R&I activities in the region.

The nine areas in which the Technological Clusters recognised by the Lombardy Region operate represent the strategic areas identified on a national level through a broader policy to support new aggregations in Research, Innovation and Competitiveness launched in 2012:

  1. Aerospace
  2. Agrifood
  3. Green Chemistry
  4. Energy
  5. Intelligent Manufacturing
  6. Mobility
  7. Life Sciences
  8. Technologies for Smart Communities
  9. Technologies for living spaces