EUR 1 million awarded for a high scientific value discovery in the field of Life Sciences.


Publicly acknowledge the commitment and talent of researchers/research teams which, through their discoveries, research and inventions, stood out for their contribution to the progress of scientific knowledge and the improvement of the quality of life of citizens.


They can be proposed by all the scientists included in the Top Italian Scientist list of the VIA-Academy having an H-index equal to or greater than 50, in the areas related to the Life Sciences specified each year in the rules. 

H-Index measures the productivity and impact of scientific and research activity on the basis of citations received.

Self-applications are not allowed: scientists can indicate the name of one or more researchers that they consider deserving of the Award.

For more information on the application procedure: 


 It consists of 15 top scientists selected by Regione Lombardia on the basis of the H-index of the VIA-Academy ranking. 


Starting from 2018, Regione Lombardia has chosen to financially support also the inventions made by students in higher education in the Lombardy region.

2019 edition


Healthy ageing: the functional process of developing and maintaining skills that guarantee the person well-being in old age.



From this year, the entire assignment process takes place through a digital platform that uses Blockchain technologies, to make all the steps leading to the appointment of the winner transparent and traceable. It is the first experiment of this kind by a public administrationPresident of the Jury: Silvia Priori, Cardiologa, IRCCS Maugeri e Università Pavia.


President of the Jury: Silvia Priori, Cardiologa, IRCCS Maugeri e Università Pavia

  • Adriano Aguzzi, Neurologist, University Hospital Zurich;
  • Giorgio Bernardi, Neurologist, Roma Tre University;
  • Paolo Calabresi, Neurologist, University of Perugia;
  • Federico Calzolari, Physicist and Computer Engineer, Scuola Normale Superiore of Pisa;
  • Carlo Croce, Oncologist, Ohio State University;
  • Andrea C. Ferrari, Nanotechnology Expert, Cambridge Graphene Center;
  • Luigi Ferrucci, Epidemiologist, National Institute on Ageing of Baltimore;
  • Carlo La Vecchia, Epidemiologist, University of Milan;
  • Michele Parrinello, ETH Zurich and University of Lugano;
  • Giuseppe Remuzzi, Nephrologist, Mario Negri Institute;
  • Paolo Maria Rossini, Neurologist, Gemelli Polyclinic and Catholic University;
  • Giacomo Rizzolatti, Neurologist, University of Parma-CNR;
  • Peter Schwartz, Cardiologist, Istituto Auxologico Milano;
  • Claudiu T. Supuran, Chemist, University of Florence.
2018 edition


Precision Medicine: a set of therapies and medical products that selectively affects the specific alterations caused by a particular disease in a particular patient, especially through genetic, metabolic and protein screenings.


The trial of ex vivo genetic therapy for the treatment of Junctional Epidermolysis Bullosa or "Butterfly Children Syndrome", conducted for the first time in the world. The clinical application has allowed to regenerate the entire epidermis of a 7-year-old patient who was in serious danger of life and who has now returned to a normal life.


President of the Jury: Remuzzi Giuseppe, Mario Negri Institute, Clinical Sciences Nephrology

  • Aguzzi Adriano, University Hospital of Zurich (Neurosciences-medicine Psychology)
  • Bassi Roberto, University of Verona (Natural &Environmental Science)
  • Calzolari Federico, Scuola Superiore Normale of Pisa (Computer Sciences)
  • Ferrara Napoleone, University of California a San Diego (Cancer medicine Biomedical Sciences)
  • Ferrari Andrea C., Cambridge Graphene Centre (Nano sciences)
  • Boffetta Paolo, CAHN School for Medicine Mount Sinai (Clinical Sciences Epidemiology)
  • Di Marzo Vincenzo, CNR of Naples (Biomedical Sciences)
  • La Vecchia Carlo, University of Milan (Clinical Sciences and Community Health)
  • Parrinello Michele, Switzerland chemistry (Chemistry Physics)
  • Perani Daniela, San Raffaele of Milan (Neurology Medicine)
  • Remuzzi Giuseppe, Mario Negri Institute (Clinical Sciences Nephrology)
  • Rizzolatti Giacomo, CNR (Neurosciences & Psychology)
  • Rossini Paolo Maria, A. Gemelli University Polyclinic (Neurology Medicine)
  • Schwartz Peter J., Cardiovascular genetics, Auxologico (Biomedical Sciences)
  • Sette Alessandro, La Jolla Institute (Biomedical Sciences)
2017 edition


The award of the 2017 edition, dedicated to the subject of Life Sciences, was given to the neurologist Giacomo Rizzolatti, director of the CNR Research Unit at the University of Parma, author of the discovery of mirror neurons, considered the "Neurophysiological" basis of empathy and therefore of sociality. 


President of the Jury: Alberto Mantovani of Humanitas, winner of the European Oncology Award 2016 and Robert Koch Award 2016.

  • Roberto Bassi, professor of Plant Physiology at the Department of Biotechnology of Verona University, member of the team that identified the mechanism that makes photosynthesis efficient in plants;
  • Federico Calzolari, ICT Officer of Normale di Pisa, member of the CERN experiment that in 2012 announced the discovery of the Higgs boson;
  • Roberto Cingolani, a physicist who with ITT is increasingly oriented toward robotics;
  • Filippo Giorgi, scholar of climate change at the International Centre of Theoretical Physics in Trieste;
  • Carlo La Vecchia, professor of Epidemiology at the University of Milan;
  • Maurizio Lenzerini, full professor at the Department of Automatic and Managerial Computer Engineering at La Sapienza University in Rome;
  • Gianfranco Pacchioni, rector of the University of Milan Bicocca, theoretical and computational chemist;
  • Daniela Perani, full professor and head of the Department of Neuroscience at the San Raffaele Hospital in Milan;
  • Maurizio Prato, full professor at the Department of Chemical Sciences of the University of Trieste, an expert in carbon nanoshapes;
  • Giuseppe Remuzzi, research coordinator at the Mario Negri Institute of Bergamo, the first Italian president of the World Society of Nephrology;
  • Paolo Maria Rossini, director of Neurology of the Gemelli Clinic and lecturer at the Catholic University of Milan;
  • Giorgio Sberveglieri, full professor of the Department of Computer Engineering at the University of Brescia;
  • Peter J. Schwartz, Head of the Centre for Cardiac Arrhythmias of Genetic Origin of the Auxologic Institute of Milan.
go to top